Child Abuse Reporting Laws for Connecticut

State and Statute: Connecticut, Gen. Stats. §§ 17a-101 et seq.

What Is Reportable “Abuse”: Physical, sexual, or mental abuse, or neglect, inflicted by a person responsible for a child’s health, welfare or care, or by a person given access to such child by such responsible person. [17a-101a] and [46b-120]

“Child” is defined as any person who is under 18 years of age or any person under 21 years of age who is in full-time attendance in a secondary school, technical school, a college or state-accredited job training program. [17a-93(1)]

Mandatory Reporters: Includes any member of the clergy, any school employee, mental health professional, licensed marital and family therapist, coach, licensed counselor, youth camp director, or any person paid to care for a child in any public or private facility, child care center or family day care home which is licensed by the state. [17a-101(b)]

How and Where to Report: Report by phone or in person the Commissioner of Children and Families or a law enforcement agency. [17a-101b(a)]

Written or electronic report by mandated re- porter not later than 48 hours after making an oral report.Mandated reporter should submit a written or electronic report to the Commissioner of Children andFamilies or the commissioner’s designee. [17a-101c]

Timeline to Report: Within 12 hours. [17a-101b(a)]

Clergy Privilege: No reference.

Penalty for Knowingly Failing to Report: Failure to report is a Class A misdemeanor or Class E felony under specific circumstances. Interfering with making of a report is a Class D felony. [17a-101a(b)(1)(2)]

Civil Liability for Failure to Report Recognized? “The Attorney General may bring an action in Superior Court against an employer who violates this subsection. The court may assess a civil penalty of not more than $2,500 and may order such other equitable relief as the court deems appropriate” [17a-101e(a)]

Immunity for Inaccurate Report: “Any person, institution or agency which, in good faith, makes … the report … shall be immune from any liability, civil or criminal, which might otherwise arise from or be related to the actions taken pursuant to this subsection… Any person who is alleged to have knowingly made a false report of child abuse or neglect … shall be referred to the office of the Chief State’s Attorney for purposes of a criminal investigation. … Any person who knowingly makes a false report of child abuse or neglect … shall be fined not more than $2,000 or imprisoned not more than one year or both.” [17a-101e(b)(c)(d)]

Disclosure of Mandatory Reporter’s Identity: Reporter’s identity not to be disclosed without written consent, except to certain parties, or when a court determines reasonable cause the reporter knowingly made a false report. [17a-28(g)(1) and 17a-28(f)]

Additional Information for Connecticut:

All information provided here was most recently verified in March of 2023.

This content is designed to provide accurate and authoritative information in regard to the subject matter covered. It is sold with the understanding that the publisher is not engaged in rendering legal, accounting, or other professional service. If legal advice or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional person should be sought. "From a Declaration of Principles jointly adopted by a Committee of the American Bar Association and a Committee of Publishers and Associations." Due to the nature of the U.S. legal system, laws and regulations constantly change. The editors encourage readers to carefully search the site for all content related to the topic of interest and consult qualified local counsel to verify the status of specific statutes, laws, regulations, and precedential court holdings.

ajax-loader-largecaret-downcloseHamburger Menuicon_amazonApple PodcastsBio Iconicon_cards_grid_caretChild Abuse Reporting Laws by State IconChurchSalary Iconicon_facebookGoogle Podcastsicon_instagramLegal Library IconLegal Library Iconicon_linkedinLock IconMegaphone IconOnline Learning IconPodcast IconRecent Legal Developments IconRecommended Reading IconRSS IconSubmiticon_select-arrowSpotify IconAlaska State MapAlabama State MapArkansas State MapArizona State MapCalifornia State MapColorado State MapConnecticut State MapWashington DC State MapDelaware State MapFederal MapFlorida State MapGeorgia State MapHawaii State MapIowa State MapIdaho State MapIllinois State MapIndiana State MapKansas State MapKentucky State MapLouisiana State MapMassachusetts State MapMaryland State MapMaine State MapMichigan State MapMinnesota State MapMissouri State MapMississippi State MapMontana State MapMulti State MapNorth Carolina State MapNorth Dakota State MapNebraska State MapNew Hampshire State MapNew Jersey State MapNew Mexico IconNevada State MapNew York State MapOhio State MapOklahoma State MapOregon State MapPennsylvania State MapRhode Island State MapSouth Carolina State MapSouth Dakota State MapTennessee State MapTexas State MapUtah State MapVirginia State MapVermont State MapWashington State MapWisconsin State MapWest Virginia State MapWyoming State IconShopping Cart IconTax Calendar Iconicon_twitteryoutubepauseplay