State and Statute: Delaware, Code Title 16 §§ 901 et seq.
What Is Reportable “Abuse”: Physical injury or neglect by those responsible for the care, custody and/or control of the child; emotional or sexual abuse, exploitation, maltreatment, or mistreatment, torture by anyone. [Code Title 10 §§ 901]
Mandatory Reporters: Includes any person, agency, organization or entity who knows or in good faith suspects child abuse or neglect. [903(a)]
How and Where to Report: Oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (a telephone call to the 24-hour, toll-free hotline (1-800-292-9582) is acceptable). “Written report, if requested, shall be made in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Division, or in accordance with the rules and regulations adopted by the Department.” [904(a)]
Timeline to Report: Immediately. [904(a)]
Clergy Privilege: “No legally recognized privilege, except that between…priest and penitent in a sacramental confession, applies to situations involving known or suspected child abuse…and does not constitute grounds for failure to report [child abuse] or to give or accept evidence in any judicial proceeding relating to child abuse or neglect.” [909(a)]
Penalty for Knowingly Failing to Report: Fine of not more than $10,000 for first violation, nor more than $50,000 for subsequent violation. 
Civil Liability for Failure to Report Recognized?
“Whoever violates section 903 of this title shall be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for the first violation, and not to exceed $50,000 for any subsequent violation.” [914(a)]
In any action brought under this section, if the court finds a violation, the court may award costs and attorneys’ fees. [914(b)]
Immunity for Inaccurate Report: “Any person participating in good faith in the making of a report or notifying police officers pursuant to this chapter … has immunity from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise exist.” [908(a)]
Disclosure of Mandatory Reporter’s Identity: Anonymous reports may be made, but Department may request reporter’s name and address. [905(e)]
Additional Information for Delaware:
- 24-hour, toll-free hotline: 1-800-292-9582*
- Online resources: https://kids.delaware.gov/fs/fs_iseethesigns.shtml
All information provided here was most recently verified in March of 2023.