State and Statute: Nevada, Stats. §§ 432B.010 et seq.
What Is Reportable “Abuse”: Physical, sexual, sexual exploitation, or mental abuse or neglect by a person responsible for a child’s welfare (includes the child’s parent, guardian, or foster parent, a stepparent with whom the child lives, an adult person continually or regularly found in the same household as the child, or a person directly responsible or serving as a volunteer for or employed in a public or private home, institu- tion, or facility where the child actually resides or is receiving child care outside of the home for a portion of the day). [432B.020 and 432B.130]
Mandatory Reporters: Includes any “clergyman, practitioner of Christian Science or religious healer unless the person has acquired the knowledge of the abuse or neglect from the offender during a confession, “a person employed by a public school or private school and any person who serves as a volunteer at such a school,” school teacher or administrator, any adult person who is employed by an entity that provides organized activities for children. [432B.220(9)]
Before a person may serve as a volunteer at a public or private school, the school must inform the person, in writing, or by electronic communication, of his or her duty as a mandatory reporter, obtain written or electronic acknowledgment from the person regarding receipt of notice, and maintain a copy of the acknowledgment for as long as the person serves as a volunteer. [432B.220]
How and Where to Report: Oral, written, or electronic report to Child Welfare Services & Child Protective Services, a law enforcement agency, or the state’s 24-hour, toll-free hotline (1-833-803-1183). Mandatory reporters must receive written or electronic confirmation of their report from the agency. [432B.200, 432B.220(1)(a), 432B.220(7)(8), and 432B.230]
Timeline to Report: “As soon as reasonably practicable but not later than 24 hours.” [432B.220(1)(b)]
Clergy Privilege: Ministers are not mandatory reporters if they “acquired knowledge of the abuse or neglect from the offender during a confession.” [432B.220(4)(d)]
Penalty for Knowingly Failing to Report: Misdemeanor for first-time violation. Gross misdemeanor for subsequent violations. [432B.240]
Civil Liability for Failure to Report Recognized? No statute recognizes civil liability. Consult with legal counsel to ensure no recent court decisions in Nevada have recognized civil liability.
Immunity for Inaccurate Report: “(I)mmunity from civil or criminal liability extends to every person who in good faith: (a) Makes a report … There is a presumption that the person acted in a good faith.” [432B.160]
Disclosure of Mandatory Reporter’s Identity: Reporter’s identity not disclosed through statutory notice of allegations. [432B.260(5)] Disclosure of identity during investigation is made only to those specified by statute, and must be kept confidential by those individuals in investigations and related reports. [432B.280] A person who is subject to an unsubstantiated report of abuse, who believes the report was made in bad faith or malicious intent may petition the court to provide reporter’s information to pursue civil action. [432B.290(6)]
Additional Information for Nevada:
- 24-hour, toll-free hotline: 1-833-803-1183 Clark County: 702-399-0081; Washoe County: 1-833-900-7233; Any other county in NV: 833-571-1041
- Online resources: https://dcfs.nv.gov/Tips/CA/ChildAbuse/
All information provided here was most recently verified in March of 2023.