Jump directly to the Content

Recent Developments in Texas Regarding Child Abuse

A Texas court ruled that a 23-year-old male who was molested by a church music director when he was a minor was barred by a 2-year statute of limitations from suing his church, and that the church could not be sued as a result of the failure of 5 pastors to report the alleged abuse to civil authorities.

Texas
State:
Key point. Minors who are sexually molested by church workers may not sue their church after the statute of limitations has expired. Generally, the statute of limitations begins to run on a minor's 18th birthday. In some states the statute of limitations does not begin to run until an adult survivor of child sexual molestation "discovers" that he or she has experienced physical or emotional suffering as a result of the molestation. Other states do not recognize this so—called "discovery rule."
Key point. Persons who are mandatory reporters of child abuse under state law may be criminally prosecuted for failure to report known or reasonably suspected incidents of abuse. However, they may not be subject to liability in a civil lawsuit seeking money damages.

A Texas court ruled that a 23—year—old male who was molested by a church music director when he was a minor ...

Join now to access this member-only content

Become a Member

Already a member? for full access.

Related ResourcesVisit Store

Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Put a plan into action to prevent child sexual abuse from happening in your church.
Sex Offenders in the Church
Sex Offenders in the Church
Legal and safety concerns to address when dealing with a sex offender.
Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Laws
Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Laws
State by state laws to report child abuse.