Jump directly to the content

Child Abuse

The Utah Supreme Court ruled that a pastor could not be sued by a victim of child molestation for advising her to forgive the offender.

Utah
State:
Key point 4-08. Every state has a child abuse reporting law that requires persons designated as mandatory reporters to report known or reasonably suspected incidents of child abuse. Ministers are mandatory reporters in many states. Some states exempt ministers from reporting child abuse if they learned of the abuse in the course of a conversation protected by the clergy-penitent privilege. Ministers may face criminal and civil liability for failing to report child abuse.

The Utah Supreme Court ruled that a pastor could not be sued by a victim of child molestation for advising her to forgive the offender and forget the incident rather than reporting it to the police.

Beginning in 1986, a 7-year-old girl (Leah) was sexually abused by a 14-year-old boy (Drew). At the time the abuse occurred, Leah and Drew were members of the same church. The sexual abuse was so extreme that Leah repressed the ...

Join now to access this member-only content

Become a Member

Already a member? for full access.

Related ResourcesVisit Store

Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Laws
Mandatory Child Abuse Reporting Laws
State by state laws to report child abuse.
Sex Offenders in the Church
Sex Offenders in the Church
Legal and safety concerns to address when dealing with a sex offender.
Reducing the Risk
Reducing the Risk
Keep your church safe from child sexual abuse.
Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Put a plan into action to prevent child sexual abuse from happening in your church.