Jump directly to the Content

Child Abuse Reporting Laws for Maryland

Last Reviewed: June 3, 2021

State and Statute: Maryland, Family Code §§ 5-701 et seq.

What Is Reportable "Abuse": Physical or mental injury, or sexual abuse, “whether physical injuries are sustained or not.” [5-701(b)(1)(2)]

Mandatory Reporters: Any person. [5-705]

How and Where to Report: Oral or written report to the local Department of Social Services or law enforcement agency. [5-705(a)(c)]

Timeline to Report: “Report abuse not later than 48 hours after a health practitioner, police officer, educator or human service worker has knowledge that a child has been abused.” [5-704(b)]

For all other persons, no specific deadline stated [5-705]

An individual with a child care institution, school, or similar institution who believes a child is in hte presece of “a parent, guardian, or caregiver” or “in the regular presence” of another individual who is a registered sex offender and “poses a substantial risk of sexual abuse to the child,” shall “immediately” notify. [5-704.1(a)(b)]

Clergy Privilege: A minister, clergyman, or priest is not required to report when learning of actual or suspected abuse or neglect through communication of a “professional character in the course of discipline enjoined by the church” and the “minister, clergyman, or priest is bound to maintain the confidentiality of that communication under canon law, church doctrine, or practice.” [5-705(a)(3)(i-ii)]

Penalty for Knowingly Failing to Report: An individual who intentinoally prevents or interferes with the making of a report of suspected abuse or neglect is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both.” [5-705.2]

Teachers and other personnel may face suspension or dismissal. Other professionals face fines ranging from $100 to $50,000. [6-202 et. al.]

Civil Liability for Failure to Report Recognized? No statute recognizes civil liability. Consult with legal counsel to ensure no recent court decisions in Maryland have recognized civil liability.

Immunity for Inaccurate Report: "Any person who in good faith makes or participates in making a report of abuse or neglect … is immune from any civil liability or criminal penalty that would otherwise result from making or participating in a report of abuse or neglect." [5-620 and 5-708]

Disclosure of Mandatory Reporter’s Identity: Statutory disclosure of confidential records and reports is not to disclose or identify reporter. [5-712.1(c)]

Additional Information for Maryland:

All information provided here was most recently verified in June of 2021.

Related Topics:
  • November 30, 2017
  • Last Reviewed: June 3, 2021

Related ResourcesVisit Store

Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Child Sexual Abuse Response Plan
Put a plan into action to prevent child sexual abuse from happening in your church.
Sex Offenders in the Church
Sex Offenders in the Church
Legal and safety concerns to address when dealing with a sex offender.
Understanding Pastoral Liability
Understanding Pastoral Liability
Know the situations in which a pastor is personally liable for wrongdoing.
Church Board Guide to a Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Policy
Church Board Guide to a Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Policy
Church leaders and boards can take relatively simple, yet effective steps to reduce the likelihood of child sexual abuse.